top of page

CITIES


http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m89780Yt0f1rrmkbjo1_500.jpg

I'm back at it again with blogging. This time, we're talking about fashion.

I love clothes but, as the brokeass that I am, I don't have a lot of pretty clothes. But that doesn't stop me from loving fashion and clothes-matching. Even with a tiny budget and a few inventory of my wardrobe, I can, somehow, make clothes stylish (or accepted by the society) - or as I would like to believe.

But other than that, I have another way of expressing myself through clothes - through Polyvore!

So, basically, Polyvore is a website (they also have an app) that sells clothes, home decor, beauty products, etc. that you can collage together to make sets which could be an outfit, editorials, and more!

If you don't know what I mean, I'm here to show you my works through a collection called Cities. This collection actually has 16 sets currently but to not make things hard for me, I'll share 5 of my favorites.

In this collection (which you can also do in Polyvore by compiling the sets you've made), I've created looks/sets that are inspired by famous cities in the world. Check them out below!

BUDAPEST

This one wasn't really inspired by the city itself but more on George Ezra's song Budapest. I was doing a spree of making sets because there was an achievement thing going on in Polyvore wherein you should make 20 sets to get a badge, and I was looking for inspiration when I heard this song. It had a jungle vibe to me - which is also the set up of Ezra's music video for the song.

I suggest ya'll should check it out!!!!

COPENHAGEN

Copenhagen is definitely my favorite because the items are totally different in color but it doesn't hurt the eye. The colorful ensemble was inspired by the bright and colorful walls of the city.

The trick to use color blocking (like in this set) is to match any color that is in the same level of shade - if that makes sense - like pastels, neons, or just the plain bright general colors - if, again, that makes sense. As you can see, I matched pastel pink with a pastel blue and pastel purple and a pastel green and a light shade of nude (because nude goes with everthing). You can also throw in some black or neutral colors (like the nude one) to balance them out because these colors usually goes with everything.

BERLIN

Unlike in Copenhagen, Berlin is more on nude tones. From the flurry cardigan to the shoes, it's nude. The outfit is inspired by Berlin because I think, personally, there's nothing more European than Berlin (I'm lying but that's what came to my mind) and this outfit is a little more European because, basically, it's cold there and they can definitely wear this one unlike here in the tropical zones of the earth.

One easy way to match colors is to keep your palette not necessarily monochrome but neutral. You can put up an outfit combining one color family or an ombré. Like in this one, I combined a light shade of nude to a darker shade (the shoes) and with white and black.

TOKYO

This look was inspired from the busy streets, bright buildings, and eccentric people of Tokyo, thus a very bright and girly outfit.

I hate prints on clothing that has too many colors because it's hard to style. But when I saw that Gucci Jacket, I still hated it but I visualized a way to make this lovable.

To style clothing like the Gucci Jacket (that costs Php 100k ugh), pick out a color from one of the prints - in this case, pink/peach/whatever from the flowers - then make it a base color for another type of clothing like the button-down skirt. Again, you can use neutral colors on this one - especially black (I love black) - but if you want to spice things up, this tip is for you.

STOCKHOLM

For this set, blue was my main color but I didn't essentially like a bright blue for the look so I used denim. The inspiration for this set was from the Google Image tab loading (lol) because it literally showed shades of blue and a little bit of brown.

There are a couple of things that reminds me of Stockholm: 1) Stockholm Syndrome by One Direction (I love 1D. I'm 1D AF), 2) Sweden (of course), 3) Pewdiepie.

Lemme explain this to you one by one.

Stockholm Syndrome appeared on One Direction's fourth album, Four, which had a black and white artwork for the deluxe album, hence a monochrome base for the top, bottom, and footwear for the look. (Also; Louis, Liam, and Niall were wearing denim. . . so ya)

Second and third, Pewdiepie is from Sweden right? Sweden's flag is Blue and yellow so, ya, I got the blue there too. About Pewdiepie, well, he plays computer games and that reminds me of innovation, thus the modernity (or post-modernity??? i don't know) of the outfit.

That's my Top 5 favorites for you! If you want to see more of this collection, click here! Also the products used in the sets are listed on the link.

I hope you learned new tips and tricks from this post. Just a little disclaimer: I am a self-taught and self-proclaimed fashionista (much brag) so use those tricks and tips in your own way and with caution lol. Just don't be afraid to experiment, besides, Polyvore exists to be a platform to your fashion endeavors.

If you liked this video, give it a thumbs up! It really means a lot! Also click the subscribe button below and I'll see you in the next one. Byeeee!!!!

Social Media Accounts:

bottom of page