top of page

Songs Everyone Should Listen To

I love music but sometimes it kills the vibe for me. I don't like the type of music you get to listen to the radio non-stop everyday or even when you're just walking in the streets and hear those songs everywhere. It's an epidemic that I get sick of. And usually these types of music are poorly written (in my own standards), repetitive and all about sex, love, drugs and it very easy to deconstruct and understand the meaning.

I like songs that are deep or confusing or poetic with words but when you decode it, it's a whole different meaning. I know I become a hypocrite saying this - they also talk about sex, drugs, love but it's not on the surface, you have to actually dive in to know what it means. I enjoy it because it activates my curiosity and critical thinking ya know and I feel very smart about it.

I found it annoying when a song that I discovered in a day gets really viral everywhere, because, again, they get played so many times that it irritates me and I can't cherish a moment with that one song because everyone else is singing it. But I turned to indie music and I found my true peace.

I really really appreciate indie music. All indie music doesn't really necessarily sound the same - there are indie pop, indie rock, indie folk, et cetera - because they were only called indie because they produce and create their own music without any aid from major record labels. I love how every indie song that I've listen to are really unique from each other and artists are really creative when it comes to making their own sound or using their own instruments. To know that they do these things on their own (or probably not) is very impressive.

I am here to share this type of music to you all and take a moment to appreciate every single second.

Today, I'm going to list 10 of my all-time favorite songs!

(Some of these songs have gone to the radio but I still love them because people would still be like "who?")

1. Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High? - Arctic Monkeys

This was the first song that I listened from Arctic Monkeys. I actually found them on Polyvore because their name/logo frequently came up. I checked them out, now they're one of my favorite indie rock bands. When you listen to their songs - especially from their AM album - you'd feel cool AF as if you were a bad boy from one of those cliché Wattpad stories.

Alex Turner is very attractive, by the way - whom could be one of the inspiration of ideal bad boys in Wattpad stories.

2. Let It Happen - Tame Impala

Why take a blunt if you can listen to Tame Impala?

Tame Impala is my favorite psychedelic rock band. Their beats are sick and will literally make you sick (I remember one time when I literally got a head ache listening to them). Their songs are trippy and to prove that, listen to the song.

(There's actually a longer version, which is better, and you will hear the trippiest part right at the middle part)

3. Nana - The 1975

IM DYING!!! It's actually the first time I saw the video above!!! I am freaking out because I didn't know there was a live version!!!!!

Anyway.

I LOOOOVEEE THE 1975. I've been to all of their gigs in my country and, man, they did not disappoint. I love The 1975. I love this band. I know they are kinda mainstream or famous now but I knew them when they were not and!!! I LOVE THIS BAND!!

Their songs were well written and well produced. It's like their lyrics were poems you guys. I literally had to dig in to the words and decode man and this song was one of them because at first it was like a serenade, but NO. It was totally different, although I noticed that before.

I dunno. Just put them in your playlist now.

4. Greek Tragedy - The Wombats

The Wombats is also one of my first favorite indie bands. Their songs tell a story quite literally. I like this song just because it's one of their non chaotic (not in a bad way) songs, it's more chill and down beat and I wanted something a little cheesy so.

5. Falling - HAIM

Out of all bands, this one is definitely that kind of band that I want to become a part of because: 1) girl power, 2) pretty, 3) down to earth, 4) relatable. I don't know but that's what I see through their social media.

They have an eccentric approach to their music: there's percussions that you wouldn't know if it was out of beat, lead guitars, and synths. Don't get me wrong, but these were the things I like about it.

Also, they don't dress too much like Melanie Martinez or Halsey or Ariana Grande - they just show up in their gigs in casual dresses, an oversized shirt and jeans or shorts, and sometimes with a stylish jacket. I'm not shaming pop artists with what they wear, it just so happens that I appreciate the Haim girls more.

At this point of the list, I'm not even going to explain why I love them and why you should listen to them (I can't help I'm lazy). Just listen.

6. Cry Baby - The Neighbourhood

7. Anna Sun - WALK THE MOON

8. She Moves In Her Own Way - The Kooks

9. What You Know - Two Door Cinema Club

Listen ya'll, I'm freaking out because I totally forgot that TDCC released a new album after years, and I was listening to their new song Bad Decisions - gurl lemme tell you, this stuff is lit bruh

10. The Mother We Share - CHVRCHES

That's it for now. Honestly, I want to add more because I really have a lot of favorite bands and favorite songs but that deserves another list yanno. (And I'm lazy)

So, I hope ya'll got some new musical findings from my blog. These artists really deserve some appreciation although they frequently show up in Coachella and all that jazz.

Peace out boy scout.

Bình luận


bottom of page