top of page

JANUARY DOPAMINE


Alright alright alright.

So I just looked up on Google what Dopamine actually means. Dopamine - besides being a complicated scientific thing - is "attention" or "addiction" according to Slate.com. From what I know, Dopamine is that thing in your brain that reels you into a thing for like a short time. Actually, I kinda got it from History Channel. They said that the reason infomercials tell you to "Buy now before it's too late!" because your dopamine only lasts for 6 minutes so they're trying to make you buy before you second guess and yadaaaaaaaa.

Okay, now to my point. I'm here with the things that got me addicted for the month of January.

1. WET

Hey ya'll I'm so excited to talk about this band ya'll. This is probably the reason why I am writing this blog post yooooo.

SO, Wet is an american indie trio and their songs are flawless. THEY SOUND SO GOOOOOD. I can't describe their music that much but it's so nice and emo. It makes me wanna forget an ex that I didn't have.

You're the Best was the first song that I really liked that I even made a video with it. Listen to the song below and check out my video as well.

The video is cute too, you know, makes me wanna skate too.

Other songs that I really liked from them was Deadwater, It's All in Vain, and Weak. They also remind me of Oh Wonder, another band that I listened to in 2015 (you might also know them from their song Without You), because both of their songs were catchy but not too upbeat nor downbeat. I prefer to these type of songs as "happy emo" because they make you feel all emotional. However, Wet is more on heartbreak and about exes while Oh Wonder is the happy Wet.

2. LANY

Now, I think everyone must have probably known this band already. Some might not but I've known a couple who had. Nonetheless, they are aesthetic AF. They bring out the hopeless romantic in me.

So, right here, we got ILYSB video that just got released a couple days ago. The lead singer definitely reminded me of Matty Healy, y'know bc of the way he dances and wears his button-down on the video.

Anyway, so I knew them back in December because of my brother and I liked it ya'll bc the beat is sick man and the lyrics are just simple yet the song was constructed very nice (lmao i have low vocabulary). I mean, if the lyrics were sung in a more pop tune, I'd probably hate it. Also, this band make preferences about the 21st century yanno. They're like that band who spent their spare time scrolling through Tumblr for inspiration for lyrics but that's cool and that's what I like in music.

3. Pewdiepie

Everyone already knows this guy from Sweden who make videos on YouTube and is the most subscribed channel on the site. So why is he on this post?

Well, I've been watching Pewdiepie for a couple of years now (probably in 2012 when he only had 1M subs) although I wasn't a frequent viewer, I still go back and watch him every now and then. Lately, I've been watching him everyday because of his never ending try not to laugh challenges but I must say, his content is better than ever. I know he's probably having pressure right now because he had to post everyday.

Also just earlier this day (the day I'm writing this), I watched his Resident Evil VII series and it just felt like the old times as if it was Amnesia all over again. I'll admit I got a lil strange when he played another horror game after yearssssss but I'll get used to it.

4. This blog

It's going to be a short explanation here bc honestly I want to establish something and actually commit to it (besides having a crush on my crush). Ya'll probably have known why I started this blog. Basically just trying to make something out of my vacation break. Who knows, this blog will do something lol.

5. The Japanese House

Another music for ya'll.

The Japanese House is so chill so if you need a relaxing moment or another emotional, self-reflecting moment, you can listen to them. They honestly sound like The 1975's less alternative rock songs such as Loving Someone, A Change of Heart, etc. I'm not actually surprised or offended in any case (bc duh i love the 1975) because when I searched them up, they were in the same record label and maybe they were friends and thus the similarity.

Actually as I am writing this I just confirmed that The Japanese House's lead vocals is a girl. I mean, I kinda knew it but I claimed that she's a man because of the voice. I honestly can't hear the girl in their songs, maybe because of other sound effects and all. Nevertheless, they're lit af.

Here's a little list of their songs and The 1975's songs to show you the similarities.

Face Like Thunder - The Japanese House A Change of Heart - The 1975

Here they both got the "hoo hoo" part lol I can't describe it better

Sugar Pill - The Japanese House How to Draw - The 1975

The intros were kinda similar. dON't judge me if they weren't, that was what I thought.

Good Side In - The Japanese House Undo - The 1975

Honestly, don't get me wrong but the guitar arrangement in both songs yooooooooooooo.

But here's some other songs you should listen from the band:

Still

Cool Blue

So that's all I got for you. Hope you all learned something new from me and actually think I make some sense. I was actually going to post this on the last Sunday of January but I haven't actually finished it until now.

That's all thank you! Please come again!

 

bottom of page